Emergency Food Stamps D-SNAP Available For Those Affected By Hurricane Ida

Data News Staff Edited Report

USDA approves D-SNAP benefits for 25 Louisiana parishes impacted by IDA. Here’s how to apply.
Food stamp qualification rules are temporarily changed to include storm-related damages as part of income calculations, which could allow many households — even those with six-figure incomes — to receive groceries — about $680 worth for a family of four. People already receiving regular food stamps can’t apply.

Applicants have to phone the agency — at (888) 524-3578 — and be interviewed by staff between 7:30 a.m. and 6 p.m. Applicants will be asked about income, checking and savings account balances and other financial assets, as well as about a wide range of costs caused by the storm. The interview takes about 22 minutes to complete. Most applicants will learn immediately if they qualify and for how much.

Application Schedule
Residents should call the LAHelpU Customer Service Center to apply and be interviewed for DSNAP on their designated day (according to the first letter of their last name) or on the A-Z days, which are open to all residents in the approved parishes and ZIP codes for each phase. Parishes were assigned to each phase based on power, telephone/internet connectivity, mail delivery and grocery stores are open at the time the DSNAP request was submitted.

PHASE 1 – September 20-25
E. Baton Rouge, E. Feliciana, Iberia, Orleans, Pointe Coupee, St. Bernard, St. Tammany, Washington, W. Baton Rouge and W. Feliciana

Day 1 (Monday, Sept. 20) – Residents with last names beginning with A-F
Day 2 (Tuesday, Sept. 21) – G-M
Day 3 (Wednesday, Sept. 22) – N-S
Day 4 (Thursday, Sept. 23) – T-Z
Day 5 (Friday, Sept. 24) – Open for all (letters A-Z) in the Phase 1 parishes
Day 6 (Saturday, Sept. 25) – Open for all (letters A-Z) in the Phase 1 parishes

PHASE 2 – September 27-October 2
Ascension, Assumption, Iberville, Jefferson, Livingston, Plaquemines, St. Helena, St. Martin (lower St. Martin Parish ZIPs only 70339 & 70380), St. Mary and Tangipahoa

Day 1 (Monday, Sept. 27) – Residents with last names beginning with A-F
Day 2 (Tuesday, Sept. 28) – G-M
Day 3 (Wednesday, Sept. 29) – N-S
Day 4 (Thursday, Sept. 30) – T-Z
Day 5 (Friday, Oct. 1) – Open for all (letters A-Z) in the Phase 2 parishes
Day 6 (Saturday, Oct. 2) – Open for all (letters A-Z) in the Phase 2 parishes

PHASE 3 – October 4-9
Lafourche, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, and Terrebonne

Day 1 (Monday, Oct. 4) – Residents with last names beginning with A-F
Day 2 (Tuesday, Oct. 5) – G-M
Day 3 (Wednesday, Oct. 6) – N-S
Day 4 (Thursday, Oct. 7) – T-Z
Day 5 (Friday, Oct. 8) – Open for all (letters A-Z) in the Phase 3 parishes
Day 6 (Saturday, Oct. 9) – Open for all (letters A-Z) in the Phase 3 parishes

Additional information about DSNAP can be found by texting LADSNAP to 898-211 or by visiting www.dcfs.la.gov/DSNAP.

In Mexico, some people make a living by separating garbage and recyclable materials, which can be sold. (John Moore/Getty Images/Stock)
Some make a living by separating garbage and selling it to recycling centers. The post Garbage Collection, Eco-Awareness Is A Way Of Life In Mexico City appeared first on Zenger News.